Make Kitco Your Homepage

Apple to re-close more stores in seven U.S. states, bringing total to 77

Kitco News

(Reuters) - Apple Inc (AAPL.O) said on Wednesday it would re-close more than two dozen stores in seven states starting Thursday, including its home state of California, bringing total closures to 77 as coronavirus cases continue to rise.

Starting Thursday, stores will close in Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada and Oklahoma. As of Wednesday, additional stores had already closed in Florida, Mississippi, Texas and Utah.

Apple has taken an city-by-city approach to opening and closing stores, evaluating data for each community. In cities where stores remain open, Apple requires face coverings for employees and customers while also performing temperature checks and frequent cleaning, the company said.

Apple has said its retail employees will continue to be paid through the closures.

Reporting by Stephen Nellis in San Francisco; Editing by Chris Reese and Tom Brown

Disclaimer: The views expressed in this article are those of the author and may not reflect those of Kitco Metals Inc. The author has made every effort to ensure accuracy of information provided; however, neither Kitco Metals Inc. nor the author can guarantee such accuracy. This article is strictly for informational purposes only. It is not a solicitation to make any exchange in commodities, securities or other financial instruments. Kitco Metals Inc. and the author of this article do not accept culpability for losses and/ or damages arising from the use of this publication.